Blue wave sweeps Alberta but Liberals form minority government

A blue wave swept over Alberta with all but one riding voting Conservative. The Liberals, however, won a minority government winning enough seats in Atlantic Canada, Quebec and Ontario.

The unofficial results show the Liberals won 157 seats, Conservatives 121, BQ 32, NDP 24, Green Party 3 and 1 independent.

CPAC chart

The Liberals were shut out of Alberta after the Conservatives won 33 of the 34 Alberta ridings.

The Conservative party won all 10 ridings in Calgary and 10 of the 11 ridings in Edmonton with incumbent Heather McPherson holding on to Edmonton-Strathcona for the NDP.

Liberal incumbents Amarjeet Sohi, Randy Boissonnault and Kent Hehr lost their seats to Conservative candidates.

In Mill Woods Sohi, who was natural resources minister in Trudeau’s cabinet, lost to Conservative candidate Tim Uppal.

In Edmonton Centre, Liberal incumbent Boissonnault lost to Conservative James Cumming.

In Calgary Centre, Liberal incumbent Kent Hehr lost to Conservative Greg McLean.

Conservative candidate Jag Sahota won Calgary Skyview. In 2015 that riding elected Liberal Darshan Kang. Kang left the Liberal caucus after sexual harassment allegations and sat as an independent for the rest of this term. He did not run for re-election. 

Preliminary numbers show the Conservatives won the popular vote, taking 34.5 per cent of the vote to the Liberals’ 33 per cent.

In Alberta, the Conservatives won almost 70 per cent of the popular vote to the Liberals’ almost 14 per cent.

The Conservatives also had the popular vote in Saskatchewan taking 65 per cent of the vote to the Liberals’ 10 per cent.

Liberal Leader Justin Trudeau spoke to his supporters in Montreal after winning. He remains prime minister but lost the majority in the House of Commons.

Conservative Leader Andrew Scheer addressed supporters in Regina after his loss.

“Our story is just beginning, but let’s remember this feeling. Coming close but falling just short,” he said. “And let’s use it as fuel to redouble our efforts because our work is not over, Canadians are counting on us.”

NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh said he will make sure the energy the party has built over the campaign continues.

The Green Party leader Elizabeth May addressed her supporters in Victoria after the results.

ADVERTISEMENT: Where is my next paycheck coming from? Whose clock will I be punching?

Like and follow us on Facebook

Keep up with Alberta’s top stories Follow us on Twitter

The Milestone Hotel & Residences Aliquam ut felis elit. commodo Praesent leo. suscipit Aenean porta. et, accumsan